Skip to main content

National History Day 2016: Annotated Bibliography

NHD Rule 16 - Annotated Bibliography

  • An annotated bibliography is required for all categories

  • List only those sources that contributed to the development of your entry, i.e., sources that provided usable information or new perspectives in preparing your entry. 

  • Sources of visual and audio materials and oral interviews must be included

  • Bundle photos or other materials from the same collection in a single citation. 

  • Oral history transcripts, correspondence between you and experts, questionnaires, and other primary or secondary materials used as sources for your entry should be cited in your bibliography but not included as attachments to your bibliography.

  • The annotations for each source must explain: (a) how you used the source AND (b) how it helped you understand your topic. 

  • Your annotated bibliography is not included in the word count.

 

Example: 
Bates, Daisy. The Long Shadow of Little Rock. New York: David McKay Co. Inc., 1962.

Daisy Bates was the president of the Arkansas NAACP and the one who met and listened 
to the students each day. This firsthand account was very important to my paper 
because it made me more aware of the feelings of the people involved.

- from NHD Contest Rule Book
 

Purdue Owl - Online Citation Help

How to move a citation from your primary source bibliography to secondary bibliography (or vice versa)

Check off the citation(s) you need to move.  

Click blue With checked drop down menu and select "Copy to another project"

Select the project you would like to copy the citation to and click duplicate.

Remember to delete citation from old project, by checking it and going to the With checked menu and select "Delete checked citations"

 

NHD Rule 17 - Separation of Primary and Secondary Sources

You are required to separate your annotated bibliography into two sections: one for primary 
sources and one for secondary sources.

NOTE: Some sources may be considered as either primary or secondary. Use your annotations to explain your reasoning for classifying any sources that are not clearly primary or secondary. Listing a source under both primary and secondary is inappropriate.

Easy Bib: Citation Maker

Use Easy Bib for your Annotated Bibliography

In EasyBib, click on the blue + Add Annotation located at the bottom of each bibliography entry.   A box will appear and you can type in your two to three sentence annotation.  Click update citation and your annotation will be added.  When you print your bibliography (see next box below), EasyBib will format and include your annotations.

 

Printing your EasyBib Annotated Bibliographies

Make sure you have set up a Primary Source bibliography and a Secondary Source bibliography.

Click on red Export buttom and select either "Print as Word Doc" or "Save to Google Docs".