Skip to main content

Drug Abuse: Magazines & Newspapers

Accessing Off-Campus

To access these periodical databases from home, you will need the LSA database passwords.  If your forgot the passwords, they are available on the EDLINE Library Resources page.

For EDLINE, click here.

What are Periodicals?

Periodicals include magazines, newspapers and academic journals.

Periodical Databases

 

SIRS Issues Researcher - Provides articles on a wide variety of social issues.  Articles originate from leading newspapers, magazines and academic journals, as well as some reference sources. 


EBSCO - Provides several comprehensive periodical databases to choose from and you can search multiple databases at a time.   For health and medical articles, MEDLINEAcademic Search Premier and MasterFILE Premier are good choices.  

ProQuest Newstand Provides newspaper articles from regional, national and international newspapers including The New York TimesWashington PostBoston Globe  and even The Providence Journal.  Control your search by using the "Advanced Search" option to identify the title of the newspaper and/or time period.

Periodical Database Search Tips

To narrow your search, utilize the advanced search options.  This will allow you to use two or more of your keywords.

 

In EBSCO, always check the full-text option (found in advanced search).  This eliminates the frustration of finding the title of a really great article, only to find the full version of the article is not available on the database.