Skip to main content

Ricci: Visual Studies Poster Project - From Sketching to Painting: ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY

ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY FORMAT

Annotated bibliographies have 2 parts: 

1) The complete citation for the source in MLA format

2) A 2-3 sentence annotation or explanation of the value of this source: what information it covered, and who or what organization created it.  The last sentence will state why you chose this source for research on this project - what specific information did you learn/use?

Teachers and professors in college often require students to prepare an annotated bibliographies as an assignment.  WHY?  These short bibliographies help the instructors determine if the students have reviewed a variety of sources and can determine which are the best!

Purdue OWL's definition/explanation of Annotated Bibliographies

Annotated Bibliography format a "NUTSHELL":

* alphabetical list of citations followed by annotations

** doublespaced evenly

*** hanging indent applied from line2+

 

WRITING YOUR ANNOTATIONS

2-3 Sentences Only!

The first sentence of an annotation describes what the book, web site, database article covered.  Look at the table of contents in a book to see what topics/information the author was focusing on in creating the entire work.  For web sites - look at the tabs or links for clues as to the info covered on the site. This information is often given in list form.

The second - third  sentences identify the author/webmaster or organization that is responsible for the publication of this source. and  states how & why this source was particularly helpful to your project.  Often this sentence will state that it was the best source or the only source that provided a certain type of information.

3 STEPS: ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHIES

1) Find 1-2 database articles and a website to use for your project

2) Use database "citation tools" to capture citations for each article that you will use & paste them in      your EasyBib bibliography

3) Use the "edit" link for each citation and select "Add Annotation" at the bottom of page.  Type in your annotation & SAVE!

3) Consult Purdue OWL to double check your work!

Sample Annotated Bibliography: book, database, and website entries

Duchamp, Marcel and Jose Faerna.  Duchamp. New York: Cameo Abrams, 1996. Print.

      This book includes a chapter on the life of Duchamp, 60 full color prints of his works, and also has a

      full chapter on the artistic movements of the 20th century. The full-page color prints of Duchamp's

      work were of very high quality and I used color copies of his paintings Brunette in a Green

      Blouse and Chocolate Grinder for my poster board project.

Naumm, Francis.  "Duchamp, Marcel." Grove Art Online.  Oxford Art Online. Oxford University Press.

     2004.  Web. 22 Jan. 2013.

     This article covers Duchamp's early history, elements of his unique style, and his influence on other

     artists.  Significant information about one of his most famous works, The Large Glass, is

     included and this was one of the pieces I featured my poster board.

"Marcel Duchamp." MOMA PS1.  The Museum of Modern Art, 2010.  Web. 25 Jan. 2013.

     The MOMA website includes not only general information about the museum and its

     educational projects but also a search interface for digital access to its vast collection. 

     The web page gallery on Marcel Duchamp contained more than 20 of his early sketches and

     paintings representing the many artistic styles he experimented with throughout his career. 

     The many links included in this website

     provided me with excellent information about his life, inspirations, and asperations as an artist.