To access these periodical databases from home, you will need the LSA database passwords. If you forgot the passwords, they are available on the EDLINE Library Resources page. Log into EDLINE; Go to "My Edline"; Under your classes you will see the link for "Library Resources".
To get to EDLINE, click here.
Periodicals include magazine, newspaper and academic journal articles.
EBSCO - (Magazine, academic journal articles and some reference articles) Search the following databases: MasterFile Premier (Magazines), Academic Search Elite (Journals), History Reference Center and Biography Collection Complete.
SIRS - (Magazine, newspaper, academic journal and some reference articles) Mostly covering issues, trends and "hot topics".
PROQUEST Newsstand - (Newspaper articles) Newspaper articles are available for most U.S. Newspapers including The New York Times, Washington Post, Boston Globe and even The Providence Journal. Control your search by using the "Advanced Search" option to identify the title of the newspaper and/or time period.
JSTOR - (Academic Journal Articles)
To NARROW your search for best results, utilize the ADVANCED SEARCH options. This will allow you to use two or more of your keywords.
In ALL of the Periodical Databases, always check the FULL TEXT option (found under the search boxes in ADVANCED SEARCH). This eliminates the frustration of getting the title of a really great article, only to find the full version of the article is not available on the database.
Magazine and newspaper articles can be used as primary sources if they were written in the time period and provide a first-hand account of the event.
In searching for primary source articles using a periodical database, be sure to use the Advanced Search feature and select a Specific Date Range to find an article in the appropriate time period that the historical event took place.
ProQuest Newsstand provides newspaper articles from 1977 - present.
EBSCO: MasterFile Premier provides magazine articles from 1977 - present, as well as more than 100,00 full-text primary source documents, photos and maps.