Skip to main content

Ricci: 3-D Design: ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY

ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHIES FORMAT

Annotated bibliographies have 2 parts ; each source is alphabetically listed & evenly double spaced 

1) The complete citation for the source in MLA format

2) A 2 sentence annotation or explanation of the value of this source: sentence #1 - what information it covered, and who or what organization created it; sentence #2 - what specific information did you learn/use from it for your project?

Sample:  "Henry Moore."  A + A. Courtauld Museum,

                   2013.Web. 6 Feb. 2014.

                  The A + A Website sponsored by the

                  Courtauld Museum features over 40,000

                   photographs of the works of Western

                  artists and links to related websites.  I used

                   the images of Henry Moore's Marquettes

                   as well as a photograph of him working

                   on a sculpture in 1928 from this source

                   for my poster board.

Purdue OWL's definition/explanation of Annotated Bibliographies

Annotated Bibliography format in a "NUTSHELL":

* alphabetical list of citations followed by annotations

** doublespaced evenly

*** hanging indent applied from line2+

 

3 STEPS: ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHIES

1) Create a New Project in Easybib

2) Add citation information:Use database "Citation tools" to copy & paste citations in to Easybib's  "All 59 Options"->write/paste box, or locate citation information from websites and use "Manual Entry" to type the infor into website citation boxes

3) Write Annotation: Click "Edit" under citation and select "Add Annotation" at the bottom of the page.  Type in your 2 sentence annotation.

Sample Annotated Bibliography: book, database, and website entries

Christiansen, Mark and Jose Fernandez.  Michelangelo. New York: Cameo Abrams, 1996. Print.

      This book includes a chapter on the life of Michelangelo, 60 full color prints of his works, and also has a full

      chapter about the sculpture techniques he used most.  The full-page color prints of Michelangelo's work

      were of very high quality and I used the images of the Pieta and the sketches leading up to the

      production of this masterpiece for my poster board project.

Malyon, John. "Michelangelo." Artcyclopedia.  Artcyclopedia, 2012.  Web. 25 Jan. 2013.

     This website includes information on hundreds of famous artists and links to museums and galleries

     that have pieces of their work in their collections.  The Michelangelo page brought me to more than

     15 additional websites where I found excellent photos of some of his lesser known scuptures that

     I included on in my project.

Namamoto, Kiro.  "Michelangelo." Grove Art Online.  Oxford Art Online. Oxford University Press.

     2004.  Web. 22 Jan. 2013.

     This article covers Michelangelo's early history, elements of his unique style, and his influence on other

     artists.  Significant information about the Pieta, one of his most famous works, is included and

     this was one of the pieces I featured my poster board.