Skip to main content

National History Day 2017: Annotated Bibliography

Mrs. Hajian's Noodletools Handout

NHD Rule 16 - Annotated Bibliography

  • An annotated bibliography is required for all categories

  • List only those sources that contributed to the development of your entry, i.e., sources that provided usable information or new perspectives in preparing your entry. 

  • Sources of visual and audio materials and oral interviews must be included

  • Bundle photos or other materials from the same collection in a single citation. 

  • Oral history transcripts, correspondence between you and experts, questionnaires, and other primary or secondary materials used as sources for your entry should be cited in your bibliography but not included as attachments to your bibliography.

  • The annotations for each source must explain: (a) how you used the source AND (b) how it helped you understand your topic. 

  • Your annotated bibliography is not included in the word count.

 

Example: 
Bates, Daisy. The Long Shadow of Little Rock. New York: David McKay Co. Inc., 1962.

Daisy Bates was the president of the Arkansas NAACP and the one who met and listened 
to the students each day. This firsthand account was very important to my paper 
because it made me more aware of the feelings of the people involved.

- from NHD Contest Rule Book
 

Copying Database Citations into Noodletools

1.  Copy MLA 8 formatted citation from database.  

 

2. In NoodleTools, click on your project title and then click on the sources tab at the top of the page:

 

3.  Click on the green Create New Citation button:  

 

4.  Choose Database:  

 

5.  Then choose Original Content in Database:  

 

6.  Near top, click on 

7.  Paste your copied database citation in the box:  

 

8.  Click on the green SUBMIT button at the bottom.  

 

Create a Book Citation in NoodleTools

 

1. In NoodleTools, click on your project title and then click on the sources tab at the top of the page:

 

3.  Click on the green Create New Citation button:  

 

4.  Choose Print or in-hand:  

 

5.  Then choose Book from the list:  

 

6.  Near top, and find the Import ISBN field:  

7.  Look at the back of your book, the ISBN number is usually above the barcode or it is on the back of the title page of your book near the copyright information.  Type in the ISBN number in the blank box and click search.  (If your book is older than 1970, it will not have an ISBN.  You will need to type in the parts of the book citation in the correct fields and click on the green submit button when finished).  

8.  Click on the correct book that matches your ISBN.  When you click on it it will change color.

9.  Click on Import Selected Source at the bottom of the box.  

10.  Check the information, make any necessary changes and then click Continue at the bottom.

11.  Click on the green Submit button on the bottom.

 

 

 

8.  Click on the green SUBMIT button at the bottom.  

 

Create a Website Citation in NoodleTools

 

1. In NoodleTools, click on your project title and then click on the sources tab at the top of the page:

 

3.  Click on the green Create New Citation button:  

 

4.  Choose Website:  

 

5.  Then choose from the list what you are citing (webpage, photo or image, video clip,    

 

6.  Complete the fields that NoodleTools provides.  They will vary depending on what you are citing.   

  • Remember to include the URL - this is a new MLA8 Rule.
  • For the Publisher, look near the copyright date at the bottom to find the publisher.  If you cannot find it there, look for an About Us or Contact Us page.
  • If the Publisher's name is the SAME as the website title or the author, leave the publisher box blank.

 

7.  Click on the green SUBMIT button at the bottom.  

 

Purdue Owl - Online Citation Help

NHD Rule 17 - Separation of Primary and Secondary Sources

You are required to separate your annotated bibliography into two sections: one for primary 
sources and one for secondary sources.

NOTE: Some sources may be considered as either primary or secondary. Use your annotations to explain your reasoning for classifying any sources that are not clearly primary or secondary. Listing a source under both primary and secondary is inappropriate.

Use Noodletools to Create your Annotated Bibliography

Sign in with your DLS Gmail address.

Adding Annotations to your Sources

1. In NoodleTools, click on your project title and then click on the sources tab at the top of the page:

 

2.  Select the source to which you will be adding an annotation by checking the box on the left.  

 

3.  On the far right of the screen, click on Options and select Edit.  

 

4.  Scroll down and find the Annotation box.  Type your annotation in the box.

 

5.  Click on the green SUBMIT button at the bottom.  

 

Labeling Citations Primary or Secondary Sources

1. In NoodleTools, click on your project title and then click on the sources tab at the top of the page:

 

2.  Select the citations that you want to label as ONE category (either primary OR secondary), by checking the box to the left of the citation.

 

3.  At the bottom of all the citations, click on the drop down menu inside the Description menu and select either Primary  or Secondary   

 

4.  Click apply.  You will see your citations labeled S (green - secondary)  or P (blue - primary) under description on the right.

 

5.  Repeat for your other source category (primary OR secondary).

6.  If you need to change a source that you labeled incorrectly, repeat the steps and select only the citation that needs to be changed.

 

Sorting your Annotated Bibliography into Primary and Secondary Sources

1. In NoodleTools, click on your project title and then click on the sources tab at the top of the page:

 

2.  In the upper right hand corner, click on the Sort menu and choose:  Primary, Secondary.  

Printing Your Works Cited Page

1.  In your project, click on the sources tab at the top of the page:

 

2.  Make sure you have SORTED your bibliography into Primary and Secondary Sources (see above).

 

3.  Click on Print/Export:  

 

4.  Choose Print/Export to Google Docs.

 

5.  Allow NoodleTools to access your Google Drive.