Skip to main content

Murphy: Junior Research Paper 2018

REMOTE LOGINS: E-Resources from Home

To access  E-Encyclopedias  & Databases at home (remotely/off-campus), you will need the LSA username and password.  If your forgot the username and password, they are posted in Plus Portals > School Links & Files Box > Library Resources Page.

For PORTALS, click here.

Tips: Database Searching

Use ADVANCED SEARCH LINK

Control/focus keyword search by combining two (2) of your search terms/phrases 

Control for: currency, publication type (in larger periodical databases like JSTOR & Masterfile Premier)

DATABASE PERIODICAL AUTHORSHIP AND CURRENCY

PERIODICAL OPTIONS

                                                                                                                                                                           

Academic Journal Articles             Magazine Articles: Overviews           Newspaper Articles: Reports                 

written by: ________________                                    written by: ______________                               written by: ______________                                      

Research Based: Peer Reviewed                                currency: _______________                                 currency: _______________                                       

currency: _________________

 

REMEMBER: Databases are Collections of Many Source Types:

Articles: reference/encyclopedia, magazine, newspaper, journal

Media: video, photos, audio

Websites: (some include academic website)

Primary sources

 

Use ADVANCED SEARCH LINK

Control/focus keyword search by combining two (2) of your search terms/phrases 

TOP BOX: Main Topic Search Term or "Search Phrase"

SECOND BOX: Subtopic  Term or "Search Phrase"

 

Control for: currency, format type etc.

 

Use the E-TOOLS: Print, Email, and Cite (copy & paste citation)

NEWSY?HIGH INTEREST DATABASES: Magazines

SCHOLARLY RESEARCH: DATABASES Academic Journals