Skip to main content

Trissler: DigLit - Research Unit: Print & Electronic Resources Tour

Welcome to the LSA Library Guide !

Getting to the LSA Website (Library Guide)

1. La Salle Academy Website Homepage -> Library Button (Upper Right Corner) -> LSA Library Guide Box (Maroon Border)

2. Portals Home Page -> "School Links and Files" Box in Middle of Page -> Library Resources Link

 

The LSA Library has a collection of approximately 10,000 print books.  Beyond that, our Electronic Resources, (Databases, E-Encyclopedias, and Academic Websites) expand our resources at least a thousand fold!  Be sure to visit the Library Guide and/or the physical library on the second floor of the Main School Building so that you can locate just what you need to excel at your homework and class projects!

Link to the LSA Library Guide - Homepage for All Resources!

LSA Library Catalog: LSA & Other Library's Print Collections

Find:
Search Titles Search Authors Search Subjects Search Keywords Search Series
Advanced Search

Reading an E-Book or Placing a hold on a book from another high school library is easy.  Please follow these steps:

Click advanced search (in blue) in the above "Books at LSA Library" box.

Click the LOGIN button in the top right hand corner.

Type in your username (first part of your school email)

first letter of first name last name graduating year)

Type in  password (lsa).                     

Example: Username: sadams19     password: lsa

Select "All High School Libraries" from the "location" dropdown menu.

Search for a book.

Click on title of the book you want to place on hold.

Click on the "Hold It" icon in the upper right corner (above green arrow).

You're done.  We'll notify you when your book arrives.

If you still can't find a book for your topic, try the RI Public Library catalog or HELIN (college/university) catalog. 

Print Collections - Call Number Coding

CIRCULATING COLLECTIONS & CALL NUMBERS

Fiction [FIC]

Short Story [SC]

Nonfiction [Dewey # Plus first 3 letters of Author's Last Name]

RI Collection [RI COLL Plus Call#]

Biography/Memoir [BIO Plus first 3 letters of Famous Person's Last Name]

Lasallian Collection [PRO Plus Dewey#]

Periodicals [Back issues circulate]

 

NON-CIRCULATING COLLECTIONS

Reference [REF Plus Dewey Number & Letters]

Periodicals [Current Issues Only]

 

KINDLE E-BOOKS

85+ popular fiction & nonfiction titles

*Must complete Kindle Permission & Acceptable Use Form

Call Numbers & Locating Books: Remember!

Call Number will include:

1) Code for the Collection

2) Number (if non-fiction)

3) Three Letters 

Examples: 

Fiction book - FIC KIN

(novel by Stephen King)

 

 Nonfiction book -398.2 BEN 

(book about urban legends by Gillian Bennett)

 

 Specialized Reference book -REF 579 MAC

(encyclopedia of Microbiology by Maczulak).

Electronic Resources from Home: LOGINS !

To access these E-Encyclopedias & Databases at home (or off-campus), you will need the LSA username and password.  If you forgot the username and password, they are available once you login to PLUS PORTALS -> SCHOOL LINKS & FILES BOX -> Library Resources Page.

E-Encyclopedia Page - Example

Database Page - Example

Basic E-Searching Tips

SEARCH TERM and "SEARCH PHRASE" SUCCESS!

*E-Search Tips - Remember . . .

1) Search phrases of "2 or more words" that you want kept in that exact order need to be placed in "quotation marks"

2) You can increase your results by truncating the root of your search term by adding *.  

     Example:  friend*  will list results that include all of these terms: 

friend

 friends

friendship

friendly

3) Use very general terms/phrases to search for books and e-encyclopedia articles

LSA Library Jeopardy

Additional Resources: Equipment and Devices

PCs 

Printer [one (1) free copy] 

NO Wireless Printing - Must print from school PC 

Scanner

Copier [$.10/copy]

Chomebooks & Calculators

[short-term loan]

Kindles w/ many class books

& YA titles 

 

REVIEW: TERMS & CONCEPTS

CALL NUMBER

REFERENCE

E-ENCYCLOPEDIA

DATABASE ARTICLE

PERIODICAL

REMOTE LOGIN

WEBSITE

ACADEMIC WEBSITE

ADVANCED SEARCH

BOOLEAN OPERATORS

TRUNCATION

LSA Library Scavenger Hunt Quiz - Google Classrooms

Good Luck on the Scavenger Hunt Quiz!

Please go to Your Period's Google Classroom (classroom.google.com) and Complete the Quiz!

30 Second Warning

6) thirty (30) second music warning - return to seat ready to work/share

"One Minute More" Capital Cities/SwedaMusic