Skip to main content

Databases: San Miguel School: Home

Database Search Tips for Grades 5-8

Gale/Cengage databases are simple to search; however paradoxically teachers will always want to direct student to the Advanced Search option [link to the right of the search box on the home page].  

 

 ADVANCED SEARCH features allow teachers and students to control/select what they are looking for:

1) Type of search to try (*Keyword [best option!], author, title, subject etc.)

2) Full text option (always check)

3) Date of creation/publication

3)Type of content/format of material they are looking for (articles, news, reference [e-encyclopedias], media, websites)

4) Content Level (critical for 5-7th grade to check "Basic" to retrieve lower lexile leveled materials and not have them wade through the full resuls list!)

 

SEARCH RESULTS:

Look for/point out list (on right of results page) to view the materials & their different formats that were retrieved

Click on link to open desired item

 

E-TOOLS AVAILABLE for each item once the link is opened [found in box in upper right corner so students can save, print, cite source!]

 

Biography Databases

Science Databases/E-Encyclopedia

Social Studies Databases/E-Encyclopedias

Cavendish Square Database Suite (Possibly in Fall 2017)

Accessing Databases/E-Encyclopedias from Home

To access these Databases and E-Encyclopedias at home (or off-campus), you will need the LSA username and password.  Your teacher will give these to you.  Write them down/email them to yourself with the Subject Database Remote Logins!

Contact

If you have any questions and/or would like to set up a demo workshop for your teachers, feel free to contact:

Rosanne Trissler

Head Librarian

La Salle Academy, Providence

rtrissler@lasalle-academy.org

401-351-7750 x198