Skip to main content

Dillon: Rhode Island & Massachusetts History Project: Home

RESEARCH & CITATION TIPS : Historical Events Occurring in "The Ocean State" or "The Bay State"

My Topic:  How did attempts at communication between first colonial and the Native American leaders help or hinder their early relations ?

"Plymouth Tercentenary Pageant, Pilgrims and Indians, Treaty of April, 1621"

Photographer: Edward P.  McLaughlin, 1921

 

TIP:  IDENTIFY/COLLECT Search Terms & "Phrases" as you go!  

"Native American"______________________    "colonial leaders" ___________________     "Rhode Island" _____________________  communication __________________

Category Option #1 Exhibits

Exhibit   

REQUIREMENTS

Size: 30"x40"x6ft.

Maximum of 3 minutes of media [looped or viewer controlled]

Captions for all pictures and graphics

500 max. word count (not including quotes or captions)

Placement of info tells story

Annotated bibliography required

Category Option #2: Essay

Essay  

REQUIREMENTS
6-10 typed pages, total of 1500-2500 words

In-text (parenthetical citations) required

Pages double spaced, numbered with standard margins

10-12 point font

Title page required

Primary & Secondary source annotated bibliographies required

Library Hours

Monday:   7:45 am to 3:30 pm.

Tuesday:  7:45 am to 3:30 pm

Weds:       7:45 am to 2:30 pm

Thursday: 7:45 am. to 3:30 pm

Friday:     7:45 am to 2:45 pm

Project Requirements

Source Requirements for Everyone:

6 Primary Sources (minimum)

9 Secondary Sources (minimum)

1.  Outline reflecting the key issues/contributing factors to historical event(s)

Due: December 20th

2. Two (2) separate annotated bibliographies that will include

a) a minimum of 6 primary sources [sources from the historical period]

b) a minimum of 9 secondary sources [sources created/published after the historical event/period]

 

3. Annotations follow each citation in the bibliographies and explain:

a) an overview of what type of source it is (web site, web article, book, film, interview etc.) and what topics it covers

b) what information, media, or other resources included within that source helped you

conduct your research/develop your project 

 

EasyBib: Your STARTING & ENDING Point

To begin:

Login to EasyBib

Create Two (2) New Projects:

1) "Primary Sources"

2) "Secondary Sources"

 

Additional EasyBib Options: EasyBib Tools

1) Click +annotation and type it in the box and save it under the full citation for each source! (Bibliography function)

2) Create electronic notecards (Notebook function0

3) Create an Outline (Notebook function)

3) Save all Work to Google Docs (Export Button/Options)

 

If prompted use this School Code:  lasalhsRI

Category Option #3: Documentary

Documentary 

REQUIREMENTS

10 minutes long

Credits/Captions provided within the project

Annotated Bibliography must include all materials not student produced

Credits at end are NOT your Annotated Bibliography!

Annotated Bibliography required

 

Category Option #4: Website

Website   

REQUIREMENTS

No more than 1,200 student composed words

Citations/Captions labeled throughout web site

Maximum of 100 MB of data space

Multimedia clips (music, video, audio) no more than 45 seconds

Annotated Bibliography built in as a web page

Process Paper built in as a web page

Our Home(s)!

"Map of Massachusetts, Connecticut, and Rhode Island."

by: Anthony Finley, 1826