Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Academic Search Elite (EBSCO) Scholarly resource provides indexing and abstracts for more than 8,300 journals, with full text for more than 4,500 of those titles. PDF back files to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals.
MasterFILE Premier (EBSCO) MasterFILE Premier Contains the full text for nearly 1,750 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. Also includes full text for nearly 500 reference books, 86,017 biographies, 105,786 primary source documents, and an image collection of 341,655 photo, maps and flags.
Database: Definition (adapted from TechTarget.com)
DATABASE = A collection of information that is organized in a software program so that it can be easily accessed, managed, and updated. In one view.
Academic databases identify the types of content they include on a specific subject : bibliographic, text, numeric, and images/multi-media.
Web vs. Database Search Results
The Web vs. Library Databases - A Comparison (Yale University Library)
Controversial Issues & Hot Topics
Accessing Databases from Home
To access these Databases at home (or off-campus), you will need the LSA username and password. If your forgot the username and password, they are available once you login to EDLINE > My Edline > Library Resources Page.
Literature & Literary Criticism
GreenFILE (EBSCO) Includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.
MEDLINE (EBSCO) Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical science and much more. This resource uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
EBSCO's Education Explora