Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Santos: Medieval Manor & Castle Project: NoodleTools

Adding Sources to Noodletools

How to Copy a Citation from a Database

1.  Copy MLA 8 formatted citation from database or E-Encyclopedia (like World Book).  

 

2. In NoodleTools, click on your project title and then click on the sources tab at the top of the page:

 

 

3.  Click on the green New Source button:  

 

4.  Choose Database:  

 

5.  Then choose Original Content in Database:  

 

6.  Near top, click on 

7.  Paste your copied database/e-encyclopedia citation in the box:  

 

8.  Click on the blue SAVE button at the top.  

How to Create a Website Citation for an Individual Article/Page in Noodletools

1. In NoodleTools, click on your project title and then click on the sources tab at the top of the page:

 

 

3.  Click on the green New Source button:  

 

4.  Choose Website:  

 

5.  Then choose from the list what you are citing.  Most of the time you will choose Web Page for articles you find on Websites.   

 

6.  Complete the fields that NoodleTools provides.  They will vary depending on what you are citing.   

  • Fill in the URL at the top.  (Example: https://www.cnn.com/2019/11/14/university-graduate-child-genius/index.html).
  • Date of Publication is the date of the article.  If two dates are given, choose the most recent date. If you can’t find a date, leave it blank.  
  • Date of Access - click today.
  • Contributors, change role to Author.   If your article has an author, fill in their name.  If no author, leave blank. If more than one author, click on +Add Contributor and fill in their name.
  • Make sure you add the Article Title. This is often skipped by students, but you need to fill it in. 
     
  • Fill in Name of Website - Usually found in the top left corner or the top of the page. 
  • For the Publisher, look near the copyright date at the bottom to find the publisher.  If you cannot find it there, look for an About Us or Contact Us page.
  • If the Publisher's name is the SAME as the website title or the author, leave the publisher box blank.

7. Click on the blue SAVE button at the top.  

How to Create an E-Book Citation

1. First you will need to find the ISBN for your book. In your e-book, go to the book's copyright page, this is usually the page after the title page (see photo below).  Copy or write down this number.  If more than one is listed, just choose one of them.  

  

 

2. In NoodleTools, click on your project title and then click on the sources tab at the top of the page:

 

 

3.  Click on the green New Source button:  

 

4.  Choose File, app, e-book:  

 

5.  Then choose e-Book from the list:  

 

 

6. Find the Import ISBN field (near the top of the page). Paste or type in the ISBN number in the blank box and click search.    

 

7.  Click inside the search results box near your book title.    When you click inside the box, it it will change to a blue color.

 

8.  Once it turns blue, click on Import Selected Source at the bottom of the box.  

9.  Click Continue at the bottom.  

10.  Check the information, make any necessary changes and then click on the blue SAVE button at the top.  

How to Create a Book Citation

 

1. First you will need to find the ISBN for your book.  Look at the back of your book, the ISBN number is usually above the barcode or it is on the back of the title page of your book near the copyright information.  Copy or write down this number.  If you don't have the book with you, you could also find the ISBN in the Library Catalog or search for the book on Amazon and find ISBN there.  Make sure you find the same book.  (If your book is older than 1970, it will not have an ISBN.  You will need to type in the parts of the book citation in the correct fields).  

  

 

2. In NoodleTools, click on your project title and then click on the sources tab at the top of the page:

 

 

3.  Click on the green New Source button:  

 

4.  Choose Print or in-hand:  

 

5.  Then choose Book from the list:  

 

6.  Near top, and find the Import ISBN field. Type in the ISBN number in the blank box and click search.

7.  Click on the book title in the box.  When you click on it it will change to a blue color.

8.  Click on Import Selected Source at the bottom of the box.  

9.  Check the information, make any necessary changes and then click Continue at the bottom.  

10.  Click on the blue SAVE button at the top.  

 

How to SHARE your Project with your Teacher

After you create a project, it automatically brings you to the Dashboard, where you can share your project with your teacher.  Click on blue Share with Project Inbox:

 



 

In the box below, type in the project inbox name your teacher has provided you.  Type carefully and as you type, the inbox name should appear.  

Then, click the blue done box. 

HELP! My Works Cited Won't Export/Print to Google Docs

For the Print/Export button to work, you must allow pop-ups.

 

In the Safari browser:

Hit the Command Key (left of spacebar) AND the Comma Key at the same time.

Choose Websites on the menu along the top.

Choose Pop-Up Windows at bottom of left column

Find Noodletools.com in the list of websites in the box on right.

Change from Block and Notify to Allow.

Refresh Noodletools page.

Try Print/Export to Noodletools again.

 

In the Chrome browser: