Skip to Main Content

McLaughlin: Chinese Dynasties: NoodleTools

How to Use Noodletools: Step-by-Step Tutorials (Click on separate tabs for tutorials)

 

How to Export a Citation from a Database

1.  You must be logged into your project and on the Sources page of Noodletools. 

2.  Go to your database article and click on the Cite button (Gale, ProQuest and JSTOR) or Export button (EBSCO)  and choose Noodletools.  See pictures at bottom of this tutorial.

3.  Double-check that citation is in  MLA format and it is going to the correct project.  Then, hit the Import Reference button.

 

4.  Go back to your sources page in Noodletools.  You will need to hit the refresh button to see the citation.

 

 

 

Gale Databases:

 

 

EBSCO (Export):

 

 

 

 

 

How to Copy a Citation from a Database

1.  Copy MLA 8 or 9 formatted citation from database.  

 

2. In NoodleTools, click the sources button to the right of the project title you want to work on.

 

3.  Click on the green New Source button at the top right:  

 

4.  Choose Database:  

 

5.  Then choose Original Content in Database:  

 

6.  Near top, click on 

 

7.  Paste your copied database citation in the box:  

8.  Click on the blue SAVE button at the top.  

How to Create a Website Citation for an Individual Article/Page in Noodletools

1. In NoodleTools, click the sources button to the right of the project title you want to work on.

 

3.  Click on the green New Source button at the top right:  

 

4.  Choose Website:  

5.  Then choose from the list what you are citing.  Most of the time you will choose Web Page for articles you find on Websites.   

6.  Complete the fields that NoodleTools provides.  They will vary depending on what you are citing.   

  • Fill in the URL at the top.  (Example: https://www.cnn.com/2019/11/14/university-graduate-child-genius/index.html).
  • Date of Publication is the date of the article.  If two dates are given, choose the most recent date. If you can’t find a date, leave it blank.  
  • Date of Access - click today.
  • Contributors, change role to Author.   If your article has an author, fill in their name.  If no author, leave blank. If more than one author, click on +Add Contributor and fill in their name.
  • Make sure you add the Article Title. This is often skipped by students, but you need to fill it in. 
  • Fill in Name of Website - Usually found in the top left corner or the top of the page. 
  • For the Publisher, look near the copyright date at the bottom to find the publisher.  If you cannot find it there, look for an About Us or Contact Us page.
  • If the Publisher's name is the SAME as the website title or the author, leave the publisher box blank.

7. Click on the blue SAVE button at the top.  

1. Find the ISBN for your eBook on one of the first few pages of the eBook (Copyright page).

 

2. Go to Noodletools, Click on the green New Source button at the top right:  

 

 

3.  Choose File, app, ebook:  

 

 

4.  Then choose E-book from the list:  

 

 

5.  Near top, and find the Import ISBN field. Type/Paste in the ISBN number in the blank box and click search.

 

6.  Click on the book title in the box.  When you click on it it will change to a blue color.

 

7.  Click on Import Selected Source at the bottom of the box.  

 

8.  Check the information, make any necessary changes and then click Continue at the bottom.  

 

9.  Click on the blue SAVE button at the top.  

Print Works Cited page

In order to print, you need to be on your Sources page - the page with your citations.  If you are not there, then click the sources button next to your project title.  

2.  On your Sources page, click the Share icon 

 

3. Click Print/Export to Google Docs.  

 

4.  Choose All Sources and click the blue Submit button. 

 

5.  Allow Noodletools to access your LSA Google Account.

 

6.  Your Works Cited page should open in Google Docs and is called:  Sources For  (Your Project Title)

 

7.  If your Works Cited page does not open in Google Docs, see the More Help  tab.  Usually, you need to allow pop-ups.