LibGuides: McGee-Flynn: Environmental Science Articles: Home

Science Databases

Science in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.
STEM Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Gale in Context: High School (Gale) This link opens in a new window

Affter opening the article, click on Cite button in upper right hand corner.

Gale defaults to the MLA 9 Citation, so just copy the citation in the box.

After opening your article, click on the cite button in upper right hand corner.

Click on the drop down menu and find MLA 9th Edition

Copy Citation, but do not copy the words Works Cited - this is not part of the citation.

Avoid Editorials, Reviews and Letters.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
MasterFILE Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window MasterFILE Premier Contains the full text for nearly 1,750 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. Also includes full text for nearly 500 reference books, 86,017 biographies, 105,786 primary source documents, and an image collection of 341,655 photo, maps and flags.
Academic Search Elite (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Scholarly resource provides indexing and abstracts for more than 8,300 journals, with full text for more than 4,500 of those titles. PDF back files to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals.

Click on Cite and Scroll Down to find the MLA formatted citation.

Use Advanced Search to control for date (2017-2022)
Word Count – Gale databases: located in beneath article title next to information circle.
Word Count – New York Times & STEM: located at very bottom of Article (Full-text Tab)
Two FULL pages of regular text equals approximately 1,000 words.
Choose PDF, if available, in EBSCO and NYT databases. PDF will include photos, diagrams, etc.

Email Me

Contact:

La Salle Academy Library
612 Academy Ave.
Providence, RI 02908
401-351-7750, ext 143
ahajian@lasalle-academy.org