Skip to Main Content

Grade 6: ELA Library Class: Databases

Databases: The Better Choice for Research

  • Anyone can create a website.
     
  • Databases are trustworthy, reliable and checked by experts.  With websites, you need to spend extra time evaluating whether or not the information is coming from a trusted and reliable source. 
     
  • Databases can contain many types of sources, including articles (reference, magazine, newspaper and journal), images, video, audio and primary sources.  
     
  • Databases have more advanced search capabilities with their database tools (Narrow by date, source type, etc.)
     
  • Databases provide fully formatted MLA citations that you can copy and paste or export into Noodletools or your Works Cited page.  This is a huge time saver!

  • Because databases are a paid resource (LSA libary pays a subscription fee), they will require a username/password when you try to open them while you are not in school.  The database passwords can be found on Blackbaud.  We would love to put them on the database page, but that is a public page and anyone can see it.
     
  • Your teachers will be impressed!

 

Find Database Passwords on Blackbaud

To access these Databases at home/off-campus, you will need the LSA username and password.  If your forgot the username and password, they are available on Blackbaud.  
Blackbaud > Resources > Library

undefined

5 Facts Google vs. Databases (by Stephanie Courtney)

What is a Library Database? (by La Trobe Library)

Link to DLS Database page

Databases vs. Google (by Becky Johnson)

Database Scavenger Hunt