DEFINITIONS
Copyright: "Legal ownership of a work or symbol" (from Our Digital World)
Trademark: Something (such as a word) that identifies a particular company's product and cannot be used by another company without permission; a quality or way of behaving, speaking etc., that is very typical of a particular group or organization (Merriam Webster's Online Dictionary)
Patent: A government grant to an inventor, his heirs or assigns, for a stated period of time conferring exclusive right to make, use, license or vend an invention, process etc. (The Random House Dictionary of the English Language)
Fair Use: conditions under which copyrighted materials can be used without the permission of the copyright holder (Digital Literacy Database).
Commercial Use: a use in connection with a business, usually for profit (Commonsense Media)
Public Domain: materials that are not covered by copyright (Digital Literacy Database)
Plagiarize/Plagiarism: "To steal and pass off (the ideas or words of another) as one's own; use (another 's production) without crediting the source; to commit literary theft; present as new and original an idea or product derived from an existing source." (from Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, 11th ed.)
Attribution: recognizing/identifying the original creator
Creative Commons: A nonprofit organization that enables the sharing and use of creativity and knowledge through legal tools
Paraphrase: Rewording the vocabulary AND reworking the grammar of an author's original sentence and putting the important information/statistic in your own original sentence.
From: The University of Washington's Copyright Connection, 2013
4.2.1 Motion Media
Up to 10% or 3 minutes, whichever is less, in the aggregate of a copyrighted motion media work may be reproduced or otherwise incorporated as part of an educational multimedia project created under Section 2 of these guidelines.
4.2.2 Text Material
Up to 10% or 1000 words, whichever is less, in the aggregate of a copyrighted work consisting of text material may be reproduced or otherwise incorporated as part of an educational multimedia project created under Section 2 of these guidelines. An entire poem of less than 250 words may be used, but no more than three poems by one poet, or five poems by different poets from any anthology may be used. For poems of greater length, 250 words may be used but no more than three excerpts by a poet, or five excerpts by different poets from a single anthology may be used.
4.2.3 Music, Lyrics, and Music Video
Up to 10%, but in no event more than 30 seconds, of the music and lyrics from an individual musical work (or in the aggregate of extracts from an individual work), whether the musical work is embodied in copies, or audio or audiovisual works, may be reproduced or otherwise incorporated as a part of a multimedia project created under Section 2. Any alterations to a musical work shall not change the basic melody or the fundamental character of the work.
4.2.4 Illustrations and Photographs
The reproduction or incorporation of photographs and illustrations is more difficult to define with regard to fair use because fair use usually precludes the use of an entire work. Under these guidelines a photograph or illustration may be used in its entirety but no more than 5 images by an artist or photographer may be reproduced or otherwise incorporated as part of an educational multimedia project created under Section 2. When using photographs and illustrations from a published collective work, not more than 10% or 15 images, whichever is less, may be reproduced or otherwise incorporated as part of an educational multimedia project created under Section 2.
4.2.5 Numerical Data Sets
Up to 10% or 2500 fields or cell entries, whichever is less, from a copyrighted database or data table may be reproduced or otherwise incorporated as part of an educational multimedia project created under Section 2 of these guidelines. A field entry is defined as a specific item of information, such as a name or Social Security number, in a record of a database file. A cell entry is defined as the intersection where a row and a column meet on a spreadsheet.
Book Covers: amazon.com
Intellectual Freedom: Free and open access to ideas from all points of view without restrictions (ALA)
Censorship: The suppression of words, images or ideas that are "offensive". It happens when an individual, group or government imposes their personal political or moral values on others. (ACLU)